Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: headlight issue....... help please

headlight issue....... help please

Problem with headlights on my 1972 ST build.

They both used to work but both headlights no longer do.

Parking lights both work
    High beams work.
    Both bulbs have been replaced but no joy.
    Fuses replaced but no joy.

As parkers work I assume headlight switch is OK but that may be incorrect.

Thoughts on what to check next please and I am no auto electrician but it surely must be something simple.

Thanks in anticipation.
    Clyde Boyer

1973 2.4E Coupe RHD Aussie 5 speed
    1973 2.4E Coupe RHD Aussie 5 speed my first ever 911 (1995)

Early S Registry Member #294
    First Aussie R Gruppe Member #366
    TYP 901 Register Inc #6

Clyde, you should check your headlight relay. That may be the problem.Its located next to the flasher relay, behind the gauges. Just swap it with the one for your horn relay (next to fusebox) and see if that helps.

Thanks Gerard will do tomorrow and report back
    Clyde Boyer

TYP 901 Register Inc #6

If it's the relay, you might want to consider removing the old electro-mechanical innerds and replacing it with a Bosch solid state relay, they fit inside the original metal housing.

https://www.summitracing.com/parts/b...MaAhgwEALw_wcB
    John Schiavone

Connecticut

356 Cab, 66 911, 914-6, 550-Beck, 981 Cayman, 54 MV Agusta Dustbid

Unfortunately the headlight relay runs the horn and the working horn relay does not get the headlights going so I guess we can exclude the relay as the issue.

As an aside when the headlight switch is pulled out to stage one the light in the instruments comes on as it should and when pulled completely on for the headlights the blue light is visible.

Next suggestions please
    Clyde Boyer

TYP 901 Register Inc #6