Thread: 1969 s oil cooler replacements?

1969 s oil cooler replacements?

Well, just got the call from Pacific Oil Coolers that the front fender cooler in my '69S was Red Tagged (no good). So what do you do if you don't want to spend $2,500 for the aftermarket one. Any kits available that fit in the original place with the original sheet metal. Sorry, I'm not very good with this search engine.
    Bob B

Hi, Bob:

When faced with the same dilemma on my ‘69S I purchased a new front cooler from Elephant Racing…it fits and works fine.

Good luck,
    Alan
    N.J.
    Alan
    N.J.

1964 E-Type roadster
    1969 911S
    1988 328GTB
    2002 Maranello

I bought a new one from Porsche. It drops in exactly with not fiddling and looks similar but not exact. Sunset has them for $1500. Your stone guard will work with it too.

https://www.sunsetporscheparts.com/o...er-90110704603
    69 911S #1379
    65 356 SC #130757

Well, here is what all of the front fender oil coolers are going to end up looking like sooner or later. This one had been sitting in the car (70,000 miles) in my garage since 1975. Pacific Oil Coolers said there were many leaks besides these huge holes.
    BTW, they will build you a replacement cooler for $2,475, P/N 8001997. The salesman (Wayne, 1 800-866-7335) showed me a picture of one on their web site, and it looked VERY substantial, but I was not able to find that pic when I got home. I asked him to just show me one, but he said it was strictly a build to order part, and it took 30 days to fabricate.
    Also including a picture of my oil tank they cleaned. Looks very nice, $225.
    Name:  Picture 004.jpg
Views: 208
Size:  83.7 KB
    Name:  Picture 003.jpg
Views: 215
Size:  77.3 KB

If you are willing to go aftermarket, this is a reputable source and very much cheaper than Porsche. https://patrickmotorsports.com/produ...91110704600pms
    Early 911S Registry # 2395
    1973 Porsche 911S in ivory white 5sp MT